A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini is probably one of the best books I have ever read. Not only is it well written, but the story reminds me of how good I have it as a woman living in the United States. The book tells the story of two women living in Kabul, Afghanistan before and during the Soviet invasion and the Taliban regime. These women were beaten and abused by their husband and there wasn’t anything they could do about it. Because of culture and tradition, the husband thought this brutality was expected of him when the wives “misbehaved”. When I first read this book, it made me realize that my life could be worse. As a woman in the United States, I have so many opportunities. I get to choose what I do for the rest of my life. I get to choose who I marry and how many children I have. I don’t know if everyone feels this way when they read a sad story like this, but every time I read A Thousand Splendid Suns, it inspires me to do better and work harder for the things I want because not all women have those choices.
2 Comments

  1. Patsy
    Posted October 6, 2009 at 3:08 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Wow! Seems like a very good book. I want to read it now because whenever I read books that includes women with limited rights, I appreciate our rights here in the United States.

  2. Miyako
    Posted October 12, 2009 at 7:06 pm | Permalink | Reply

    WOW! After reading this book review I realized how good I have it. I complain often about life and its imperfection while right next door women are being beating to stay in "their place" by men who are suppose to love them. I had a reality check after reading this review and I am counting my blessing because I do not have to worry about having my rights limited by a man. I am thankful that I live in a America and I think these women should have the same rights as I.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

